Skip to main content

Senior Fellows of the IPM

To reflect the growing importance of the profession and the role that place leaders and managers have in transforming places, IPM has identified exceptional people on whom to bestow the honour of Senior Fellowship.

Senior Fellowship is a recognition of an outstanding achievement and contribution to place leadership and management, and Senior Fellows are appointed by unanimous decision of the IPM Executive Board. As an authoritative voice for and within place management, Senior Fellows inform and advise on the work of the Institute.

Further updates to follow

Senior Fellows

  • Andrew Cooper
    Inaugural Chair of The BID Foundation, Chief Executive of LeedsBID, High Streets Task Force Expert and BID mentor

  • Alan Hallsworth 
    Professor Emeritus, Staffordshire University

  • Ben Stephenson
    Director, BAS Consultancy, Chief Executive of BID, High Streets Task Force Expert and Design West Panellist

  • Bill Addy
    Chief Executive Officer of Liverpool BID Company, Chair of LVEN (Liverpool Visitor Economy Network)

  • Bill Grimsey
    Ex CEO of Wickes, Iceland, Booker, Focus DIY & Park n Shop Hong Kong. Author of Sold Out & The Grimsey Reviews 2013, 2018 & COVID Supplement Build Back Better

  • Dr Cara Courage
    (Head of Tate Exchange, Tate) Cara has been elected in recognition of many years of research and impact in place making

  • Professor Cathy Parker MBE
    Institute of Place Management Chair, Research Lead for the High Streets Task Force, Journal of Place Management and Development Editor-in-Chief

  • Cecilia Pasquinelli
    Associate Professor of business management at the University of Naples Parthenope and associate editor of the Journal of Place Management and Development

  • Diane Wehrle
    Marketing and Insights Director, Springboard

  • Professor Dominic Medway
    Institute of Place Management, Journal of Place Management & Development Editor Emeritus, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Business & Law at Manchester Metropolitan University

  • Ethan Kent
    Executive Director, PlacemakingX

  • Professor Gary Warnaby
    Professor of Retailing and Marketing, Department of Marketing, Retail and Tourism at Manchester Metropolitan University. Editing board for the Journal of Customer Behaviour, Journal of Place Management and Development, and Journal of Marketing Communications

  • Professor Emeritus MMU Harold Goodwin
    Responsible Tourism Partnership, Honorary Professor Amity Institute of Travel & Tourism Amity University 
  • Ian Harvey
    Interim CEO at the Institute of Place Management, Secretary to the APPG for Civic Societies, Joint Founder of Civic Voice, Founding Director of Love Wavertree CIC and Executive Group of High Streets Task Force, Historic England's Historic Places Panel, Fellow of the RSA

  • Dr Jackie Mulligan
    CEO of and, Creator of Love Local Day, Green Friday and High Streets Task Force Expert, shop local campaigner, speaker, facilitator and place consultant
  • Jane Jenkins
    CNU-A, SFIPM, President, Jane Jenkins Resources, 35+ years of place management experience, past chair- International Downtown Association

  • Jean Ball
    Eventful Places, High Streets Task Force Expert

  • Dr Julie Grail 
    Expert advisor DLUHC, Managing director/founder The BID's Business

  • Professor Kim Cassidy
    Professor of Retail/Services Marketing at Edge Hill University and member of the Professional Research and Data Group of the High Streets Task Force

  • Leigh Sparks MA, PhD, CF, FRSE
    Professor of Retail Studies and Deputy Principal, University of Stirling, Chair of Scotland's Towns Partnership

  • Dr Louise Grimmer AMAMI CPM
    Associate Head Research Performance and Senior Lecturer in Marketing

  • Dr hab. Magdalena Florek 
    Founding Board Member of International Place Branding Association (IPBA), Education Director of IPBA Academy

  • Margaret Dale
    Community Activist and Expert Witness (Employment)

  • Mark Gregory
    Visiting Professor of Business Economics at Staffordshire University, Chair, Labour Party Commission on Community Ownership, ex-Chair, Advisory Board, Centre for Towns, Member UK Government Covid Recovery Taskforce

  • Matt Baker
    Founder of Rise Associates and a Local Government Association economic growth adviser

  • Michael Edwards
    President and CEO of Chicago Loop Alliance, founding member of the Global Business District Alliance

  • Michelle Wilby
    Chief Executive Officer, Colmore Business District

  • Prof Mihalis Kavaratzis
    Professor of Place Marketing, Manchester Metropolitan University, Founding Board Member International Place Branding Association

  • Natalia Belyakova
    Associate Professor, Higher School of Economics, St Petersburg

  • Neil Schneider
    Association of Public Service Excellence (APSE) Commissioner, High Streets Task Force board member, South Tees development corporation board member , Deputy Lieutenant County Durham 

  • Dr Nikos Ntounis
    Lecturer in Marketing, Department of Marketing, Retail and Tourism, Manchester Metropolitan University
    Senior Research Associate, Institute of Place Management, Manchester Metropolitan University
    Editor, Journal of Place Management and Development

  • Nicole Srock.Stanley
    Chief Executive Officer and Founder dan pearlman Group, Member of the Supervisory Board, Mister Spex SE, Founder of Climate Education GmbH, Chair of the Advisory Board of the Berlin Life Foundation, Vice President of the German Design Council, Vice President Rotary Club Berlin, Member of the Strategy and ESG Committee

  • Paul Wright
    Co-Founder WhatifGroup, Member of the BPF Regional Policy Committee

  • Phil Prentice
    Consultant, Scotland’s Towns Partnership. National Programme Director of Scotland's Improvement Districts

  • Polly Barnfield OBE
    CEO of Maybe*, HSTF Partner, member of the PRD Group of the HSTF, and Partner and Board Advisor at the Centre for Sociodigital Futures
  • Professor Sebastian Zenker
    Academic Director of the Master in Sustainable Tourism and Hospitality Management

  • Stefan Gurney MSc
    Executive Director of Norwich BID and VisitNorwich, ATCM Advisory Council Chair, BID Foundation Vice-Chair, Eastern, BIDs Network Chair

  • Steve Maras
    Group Managing Director & CEO, Maras Group
    Immediate Past President & Member SA Management Executive, Property Council of Australia (SA Division)
    Deputy Chair, Adelaide Economic Development Agency (City of Adelaide)
    Committee Member, East End Coordinaton Group
    Co-Founder & Partner/Sponsor, Ebenezer Night Markets

  • Professor Steve Millington
    Director of the Institute of Place Management. Reader in Place Management and Leadership at Manchester Metropolitan University. Co-investigator, National High Streets Task Force for England

  • Professor Tim Edensor
    Institute of Place Management, Author and Researcher on Place

  • Dr. Viriya Taecharungroj
    Associate Professor of Marketing — Mahidol University, Place and Business Analytics Research Cluster Manager of Mahidol University International College
Back to top